Top Ten Books I DNFed Without Meaning To

Top Ten Books I DNFed Without Meaning To

new top ten tues.png

When I’m reading, I rarely make the decision to DNF a book. Like, I never think “okay, I have read enough of this book and it isn’t for me.” However, I do, very often, put down a book and say I’m going to come back to it and then just kinda…never pick it up again. 

So, here are some of the books I DNFed without really meaning to. Some of these I might try reading again one day, but we’ll see. 

dnf.png

1) The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler – This book is right up my alley. Like, right the heck up it. A YA contemporary with mermaids? Yes, please. But, as excited as I was to start reading, I had a hard time staying hooked. 

2) Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco – Again, this should be perfect for me. I looove Victorian England and I am also fascinated by Jack the Ripper but I just could not stay focused when I was reading this. I’ve heard wonderful things about this and I am determined to try again one day. 

3) Legend by Marie Lu – This one doesn’t make any sense because I’ve picked this up multiple times and each time I’ve enjoyed what I read and I’ve wanted to read more so WHY can I not make myself keep reading? 

4) King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard – I don’t feel bad or confused about this one, tbh. 

5) Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman – I was having a hard time connecting to the protagonist and staying interested in her life. There are a lot of aspects of this novel that intrigue me, so hopefully I’ll give it another shot one day. 

dnf2.png

6) Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh – I was so excited for this novel, but it just didn’t do anything for me. So, I skimmed ahead to try to see where the romance was going (because that’s my priority when reading–don’t judge me) and I was disappointed and so I guess I just forgot to ever finish. Oops.

7) Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes – To be fair, I wasn’t much of a fantasy reader when I tried this novel out. I own most of the series, so I definitely need to try again. 

8) Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood – I started this novel when it first released IN 2012 lol. It was just different than I expected so I never finished. I suspect I’d actually like it more if I tried reading it now. 

9) The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert – I’ve heard so many wonderful things about this novel, but I just couldn’t get into it. Honestly, I didn’t get very far before I put it down, though. 

10) An Abundance of Katherines by John Green – It doesn’t help that I was assigned to read this for one of my classes. I very rarely 1) finish my class reading and 2) find my assigned reading interesting. 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I DNFed Without Meaning To

  1. I haven’t heard of many of these but the ones I have, I can definitely see why you didn’t enjoy them. I hope you pick up Legend again in the future and stick with it! And I’m honestly surprised to see The Hazel Wood on someone’s DNF list–I haven’t read it yet but I have heard so many great things about it I was surprised! Great list.

    Like

Leave a comment